Home > Ramblings > The Shack, revisited

The Shack, revisited

September 1, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Sitting in an uncomfortable plastic chair, in a noisy hospital corridor that was too narrow for more than one person to get through at a time, requiring me to constantly shift and juggle my feet, I was determined that I was not going to entertain anyone with my tears as I re-read the early chapters of The Shack.  Since I had virtually read it through in one sitting the first time through, I wanted this reading to be leisurely and reflective, scribbling notes and various squiggles in the margins.  Alas, I had given away my copy and was reading a borrowed copy, that I had borrowed away from my wife.  In the end I had to satisfy myself with a few pen pricks in the last few chapters.

Tomorrow I am going to scan the pages in which the main character, Mack, wrestles with forgiveness for one who caused such pain into his life.  Hope to give them out to a group I have been doing some teaching with on forgivness and healing, as a case study.  Expect that it will generate some discussion.  I am surprised what a profound impact this section had on me and in the middle of the night, I found myself praying, “I forgive you.”  Amazing the stuff that God brought to mind.

I think I understand why some are troubled by this book–Young tries to explain that which perhaps is unexplainable and in attempting to do so, some have likely taken offense and think he confuses categories within the Trinity.  Does he over-emphasize the social trinity? Make it seem too analagous to human relationships?  With what else do we have to compare?  I must admit he gets a little weird for me with all those colors and lights in chapter 15.  At the end of chaptert

  1. Andrew
    September 1, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Makes me realize even more that I need to read this book. I don’t know why people get so bent out of shape about a book that seems intended to explore the greatness of God.

  2. September 2, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Yeah, I would enjoy hearing what you think about it. I expect a Sat morning would be enough time for you to read it. But, as I discovered, he has some good things to say scattered throughout it and I hope to get my own copy here again and mark it up. Are you still blogging? If so, where

  3. Lady Fisher
    September 23, 2008 at 4:27 am

    I really enjoyed reading the book. (Shack)
    I have being dealing with unforgiveness in my life and this book was an eye opener for me.
    God is a spirit (Rainbow) We all will be at awe!!! when we see God.
    God will use whatever it take to get us to understand His word more clearly. Think about it, his earthly father was not an good example, so God came to him as a women. His mother show love to him. He was able to open up to God this way. But what God was showing him was that it wasn’t about what you are going through it about what I have for you to do on this side of the vineyard. We must remember the battle is already won, we just got to reach out and help others to believe that you can get on with life and show love the way Jesus did. But we must first believe it ourselves.

  4. September 23, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    I think the better way to say it would be, “God is Spirit, not a spirit.” (Jn 4:24) Indeed, we can only give out to others (the love of God) to the extent that we have also accepted and received his love.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

