Home > Leadership, Spirituality > Sleeplessness and prayerlessness

Sleeplessness and prayerlessness


I rarely have trouble sleeping but this week I started back on anti-depressant meds and I think that has affected my ability to sleep.   Going back on the meds is another topic–I am a little disappointed about that but, live with it!  My sleeplessness also could have been a function of that cup of tea I had in the afternoon (we drank lots of tea in Singapore!).  In any case, as I lay there wide awake the other night, the Lord showed me how prayerless I have been of late.  It is certainly not because there is a lack of need–at least 3 friends with cancer, others with marriage struggles,  2 of our team here having their mother die, several people around with serious illnesses (dengue fever) as well as fairly serious emotional fatigue issues, my own family concerns.  But, I realized as I lay on my bed the other night, that I had not been praying–I had been talking, texting, emailing, visiting, thinking about but praying?   I am not going to get into here when we are praying–I think generally we do a lot more of it than we are aware.  But i was convicted.

My Psalm for meditation this week was Psalm 1 and in verse 2, the Psalmist says that joy comes from delighting in doing everything Yahweh wants.  So, I began praying for each of the people God brought to my memory this verse–that they would take delight in doing everything Yahweh wanted.   If you think about it, that is a pretty powerful prayer–I mean if we all delighted in doing everything God wanted, this would be a different place (kind of like, may your will be done on earth as it is in heaven).   Yesterday, I prayed the Jesus prayer for a number of folk, “Jesus have mercy on _______”  and this morning I went back to Psalm 1:2.  I am a long way from being a faithful prayer but I wanted to write about this.  Perhaps you can pray for me in this area? I realized a number of years ago that if God has called me to lead people, he has called me to pray for them.  I just have been going through a period in which I was not doing this.  Maybe this will encourage you to do something similar?

  1. katy
    August 29, 2008 at 12:31 am

    I’m not sure why…but reading this post motivates me to say this…

    I love you dad.

  2. September 2, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    That sure made my day and encourages me to keep blogging!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

