Home > Spirituality > In what does God delight?

In what does God delight?


Or, to put it another way, “What makes Jesus smile?” These thoughts are arising out of some meditations on Psalm 1. This morning, I opened my journal with these words, “How are you doing, God?” I thought it sounded kind of weird but as I thought about it, I know I don’t believe that God is emotionless and so, why not ask him how he is doing? We know God has feelings of love, anger, jealousy, mercy, compassion etc from the Bible. So, my question, in what does He delight? What brings Him joy? Started out with Psalm 1 and moved on

  • He delights when our delight is in Him (John Piper says it much better)
  • He delights in our repentance

Then I thought about Jesus, God in the flesh–what made him smile. As far as I know, there is nothing recorded about Jesus smiling but he must have done so and he must have had a beautiful, hearty laughter. I admit that am pushing my normal boundaries or images of God here. So, here are a few situations that I think would have brought a smile (maybe laughter) to the face of Jesus.

  • Rich young ruler–it says Jesus loved him
  • Lazarus being raised from the dead
  • Peter walking on the water–can you imagine the excitement and the laughter in this scene
  • Blind Bartimaeus walking–remember the lame man in Acts walking and leaping and praising God?
  • John’s disciples asking, “Are you the Messiah?”
  • Faith of the military man–just say it and my daughter will be healed
  • widow giving her 2 mites
  • disciples returning after the 70 were sent out
  • Post-resurrection scenes
  • Woman in Luke 7 washing Jesus feet with her tears
  • Peter–in John 13, “then wash all of me!”
  • Zaccheus
  • Nathaniel, “how did you see me?”
  • Feeding of the 5000
  • Those who resist temptation
  • Sinners repenting
  • when we forgive other

What do you think? Many more I am sure.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

