Home > Ramblings > A Dark Knight for the Soul

A Dark Knight for the Soul


My wife and I saw The Dark Knight a few weeks ago, one intense movie. A lot of people have written on this but the following quote is quite interesting.

In a review of Dark Knight, Sam Thielman at World Mag describes the “Joker.” Let me clear things up: He’s playing Satan. Ledger flicks his tongue like a snake, tempts people to kill one another, and is gleefully sloppy with bullets, bombs, and knives. Everyone else plays gangland archetypes; Ledger’s Joker has escaped to the movies from Milton, or C.S. Lewis’ Perelandra.

Personally, I want to see the movie again to pick up the things that I missed. To quote another reviewer, “Don’t take your kids, don’t take your kids. They may complain but don’t take your kids.” I would not completely agree but would say, take them with great caution and make sure you have a debrief time. Expect there will be some useful tools out there soon so that this movie can be used as a discussion point with others.

Tags:
  1. Andrew
    August 6, 2008 at 11:33 am

    Great movie, and great acting by Ledger. And as far as “don’t take the kids”…well that all depends on the kid, now doesn’t it? There’s certainly a lot of discussion-worthy content in Dark Knight, more so than in most movies Hollywood churns out. One thing it isn’t: mindless violence.

  2. August 6, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Yeah, one reason I want to see it again is because I closed my eyes when the joker prepared to inflict pain on someone. I think it is much more effective than showing the blood and gore. Now, as for Kill Bill . . . altho I must admit I do enjoy watching that movie now

  3. Andrew
    August 7, 2008 at 3:11 am

    I actually thought that TDK was fairly Tarantinoesque in its use of brutal violence–that less actually happened on screen than the viewer *thinks* happens on screen. TDK example is Joker’s “pencil” joke near the beginning. You don’t “see” anything at all, but it’s as intense as if you had.

  4. August 8, 2008 at 9:23 am

    There is no way I would take my kids. While the movie explored humanity, in all of its messiness, the psychological effect was pretty intense. There is no way to know what kind of effect the movie will have on kids. One of the issues is not having the ‘categories’ to enable them to deal with it effectively. Once they see the image (or imagine it), there is no going back. There is no way to erase the images and/or thoughts that come.

    I feel we are far too ready to allow kids to deal with adult issues.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

