Home > Ramblings > Listening to the voice of Jesus

Listening to the voice of Jesus


I appreciate the following post by Michael over at Jesus Shaped Spirituality that he calls “Jesus talking” Here is an excerpt

On the other hand, for Michael right now, Jesus is close and his voice is the voice I recognize from years of coming to know Jesus. It is the voice that calls me to the Gospel, to the Trinity, to the church, and strangely for me, to freedom in my choices. It is the voice of God’s kindness. It is the voice that knows and reveals the Father; the voice of accepted tenderness, hurricane-like love and endless patience. It is a voice that gives me dignity, assurance and an invitation to go at my own speed. If it’s not Jesus, it’s doing a fine imitation.

It isn’t a voice that I can confidently say is my own. It’s too much like him, and it’s too full of his love, patience and purpose. It isn’t the voice of my religious training or my own desires. It’s the voice that woos and carries; the voice that the sheep recognize; the voice that calms and creates.

It is the voice of tender thunder. It is the voice that knows me inside out but knows a lot more than what is inside of me. It is the voice gentle discipline, loving truthfulness and unwavering love beyond judgement.

This reminds me of something Dallas Willard said in his book on Guidance.  He quotes Lily Tomlin who had asked, “Why is it that when we speak to God we are said to be praying but when God speaks to us we are said to be schizophrenic.” He says many church leaders do not like to encourage the idea that God speaks to the individual Christian. Why? He suggests that they “prefer that he speak only to them and not their flock.” 19

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

