Home > Ramblings > Failure to live in the rhythm of grace

Failure to live in the rhythm of grace


I have been beating myself up over the last 24 hours over my failure to live according to the rhythm of grace. I was in a very difficult conversation with someone and they just were not getting what I was saying or at least i didn’t think they were! So, rather than back off and wait for another time when they were ready or for a time when my love for them was being communicated to them in a deep and safe way, I pushed on ahead. Well, I finally managed to get a reaction but in doing so, I hurt the other person deeply and in doing so, I feel like I betrayed my own calling. The Lord reminded me of a lesson from 1 Cor 13 that he tried to teach me a few months ago, “If I know all things about ________ but do not love ___________, I am nothing! Ouch.

Back to the comfort of Psalm 37 this morning and God’s stabiizing love and control.
I also found myself drawn back to Caussade’s Abandonment to Divine Providence.  He writes, “The divine will is a deep abyss of which the present moment is the entrance.”  I would rather be anywhere else right now, Lord but may I face this day with courage and a willingness to trust your sufficient grace.

  1. Robin
    July 18, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Thank you for being honest and real about your walk with God. I enjoy your insights and thoughts.

  2. July 21, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Appreciate others walking on the journey with me. Thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

