Home > Scripture Reflections > I’m done

I’m done


Finished, kaput, tapos na–“I’m done” were the final words of Daniel Plainview in “There Will Be Blood,” a movie I watched last night. I was not surprised to later read that Daniel Day Lewis received an academy award for best actor. Since I grew up around oil rigs myself, I found myself strangely attracted to Daniel and his “son”. I still can’t figure out if he was an honest businessman and a loving Father or a deceiver who would do whatever it took to get to his objective. Did he achieve what he wanted at the end of his life when he said, “I’m done?” I hope not!

“I’m done” were the reported words of Tiger Woods as he came off an amazing second round of the U.S. Open. “I’m done,” Woods said. “It was nice that I could finish this round.” With an injured leg, he caught up and went into the lead with some magical golf.

Of course, this makes me think of Paul’s “I’m done” in 2 Tim 4:6-7 and of what I read today in Psalm 84:5 “Happy are those who are strong in YHWH, who set their minds on pilgrimage to Jerusalem.” A pilgrim knew he had arrived in Jerusalem, Tiger knows he has arrived when he finishes that last hole, Daniel Plainview knew ??? Where am I headed? I think that my chief ambition in life is to live a life of obedience. It sure makes life a lot simpler and more fulfilling. If I can be present in the moment where God is at work, will not everything else come? Isn’t that what Jesus meant when he said, “Seek first the kingdom of God and all these things will be added to you?” I don’t think I am seeking fame or power or money or pleasure or knowledge–I enjoy all of those things but I hope my life does not revolve around them, I don’t think that is where I am headed. I must admit that I get distracted by the desire for success, to be spoken well of by all men, to find intimacy in relationships, to stay healthy but hopefully those are but momentary distractions.   And, then there is UGLY PRIDE!.  Ouch!  I guess I am not yet done, eh?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

