He was hungry


I have been reflecting on Mark 11:11-14 over the last week. Some thoughts on “he was hungry”

He really was hungry–this helps me to identify with Jesus and he with me. He understands because he experienced all the various kinds of pressures that I face–yet without sinning (Heb 4:15; 12:3-4). Question: My understanding is that he had no sin nature–according to Rom 5:12-21, since the sin nature was passed on through the Father. Does his lack of sin nature somehow diminish his ability to resist sin?

He was hungry–he had a need (like I do), his stomach grumbled. He wanted some pita and hummus, he could smell the frying fish nearby. Why was he hungry? Did they leave early? they and arrived late–was he grumpy?

Is my image of Jesus one of an emotionless, intellectual, distant–someone that is very smart and makes you uncomfortable because they can see right through you? But he was winsome, he made people feel comfortable. Van Kaam says that we can see Jesus as gentle when he calls his disciples, “my little children.”

“He wants to let them know that he really feels what they are feeling, . . .. . . In the face of Jesus gentleness, I feel embarrassed by my abruptness. How often do I bring people unpleasant tidings without delicacy and compassion? Rarely do I take time to put myself in their place. I do not really try to feel what they are feeling. I give it to them straight, secretly proud of my no-nonsense approach. I harden my heart and become less like him who lovingly dwells in me.”

He was hungry–when I get hungry, I tend to focus on myself, low blood sugar, irritable. When I am hungry, I realize how important food is to me, how much I crave it, how much it is often an idol to me. Since Jesus focused upon doing only the will of the Father, was food unimportant to him? Utilitarian only? Something that must be done–like some people I know for whom eating is something that they must tolerate so they can get on to something more important. I cannot imagine Jesus like that–not in his culture in which food and feasting is tied in with relationships–remember the wedding of Cana or the Prodigal son!

He was hungry–was he looking for food? Grain in the fields, fruit trees? His eyes were looking around for something to eat yet I cannot believe the he was not present in the moment. He was not thinking about what he would do and talk about once he found something to eat–like I often do. Food becomes my all consuming pre-occupation at times.

He was hungry–if he was, likely so were his disciples. As their leader, it was his responsibility to feed them or were they supposed to take care of him and he was disappointed in them? Hard to imagine the ladies in Bethany feeding them. There was no way according to Philippians 2 that he was only concerned with his own hunger and needs to the exclusion of others–self-centered which often happens to me when I am hungry. I remember when I have forgetten the purpose of the dinner or conversation when I feel hungry, I am just tolerating the prelude until my stomach is full.

He was hungry–his need was real. he felt a genuine ache. If that happened to him was he addicted to coffee or tea? Could he do without? Me?

he as hungry–he saw a fig tree a long way off. He was aware of his world–fig trees, plums, pears, apples, whatever fruit trees they had, He was much more in touch with the ground than most of us are in this part of the world. There was anticipated joy in the fruit of the fig tree–did his mouth water? Did he pick up his pace a little after seeing the tree? Did he say, look how the Father has provided? Was he the first to see the tree?

he was hungry–but it was not the season for figs. When he approached the tree, he likely knew what kind of tree it was from afar and saw upon approaching it, that there were no fruits. Would he also have known that it was not the season? If so, why did he continue approaching the tree? Did he have good eyesight? Probably.

He was hungry–it was not the season for figs. Was this a comment about this particular fig tree, that for some reason, it was not bearing fruit? What time of year was it? I want there to be something wrong with this tree. I need it to be not functioning according to its role. It is important to me that Jesus did not curse a fig tree that should not have been expected to be fruit bearing at this point. But I don’t know, I can only guess the reason. So final–may no one ever eat from you again. Seems unfair. I know he was not showing off to his disciples–they did hear him cursing the tree.

Okay, Lord, I need to stop this and I will trust  you  even tho I don’t understand. That is okay. I know you are teaching me that amazing things can happen when there is faith, that you want me to be fruit bearing, that the Lord Jesus was never selfish, never angry for the wrong reasons. He was smart, intelligent, compassionate and always carried a deep sense of who he was and where he stood in the Father’s plan–may I be like you Jesus!

  1. rachel
    May 3, 2007 at 11:15 am

    hey i stumbled upon your blog. i don’t know if this would provide another view to the barren fig tree (as i was also pondering on the same subject): http://www.apologeticspress.org/articles/3061

  2. david
    May 3, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    will look it up and get back to you on this. thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

