Home > Ramblings > A journey to sobriety

A journey to sobriety


Last night, we started our small group sharing about some of our heroes. I am so proud of how one of my heroes is battling for his life and here is part of his story. Posted with his permission.

Monday 23rd April brought to a close the 9th week I have spent attending 3 two hour sessions and a one-on-one session per week at a group therapy center for alcohol addiction. This marks the end of my out-patient therapy that has helped me to a life of sobriety the past 9 weeks. This is only the end of Phase 1 of my journey to life-long sobriety or till Christ calls me home.

Over the last 5 weeks I have voluntary attended a 1 hour and 30 minute meeting at an Alcoholics Anonymous group. The group focuses particularly on the understanding and implementing of the 12 Step Program. Every week they study one of the 12 steps. I was fortunate to begin when they started on the 1st step for the umpteenth time. A person normally reads and expounds the meaning of the step, after which, the floor is open to anyone who wants to speak on the particular step under discussion. I find this approach extremely helpful and highly motivating. So far I have admitted that I was powerless over alcohol and that my life became unmanageable. I came to believe that God alone could restore me to sanity. I then made a decision to turn my life over to the Care of God, the God revealed in the Holy Scriptures. Since then I have experienced peace with God and with my family.

The meetings at AA motivate and encourage me to remain sober. They also give me the opportunity to meet people from all walks of life. Among those I have met and befriended thus far are 2 business men who are deeply convicted of their need of God, the highest Power on which we are called to rely upon to remain sober. The group allows me to make a new circle of friends outside that of family and my church. It has also allowed me to meet people who have opened my eyes to the possibilities for future ministry.

As I journey along this road of sobriety, which is the only way to live, I plan to make the AA meeting a weekly habit. I will also be attending an After Care Group for 3 months.

The Lord has rescued me from certain destruction and death. He has helped us as family through this time of crisis. You have also been supportive and encouraged me along this path. By God’s Grace and through His Mercy I plan to make a searching and fearless moral inventory of myself. As God gives me grace I plan to make a list of all the people I have harmed and make amends to all of them.

Having had this spiritual awakening, I will live the rest of my days for his Glory and carry the message of sobriety to others to whom He leads me. I also plan to practice the 12 steps, which I find entirely consistent with the God’s word in all my daily affairs as God enables me.

  1. sobrietyorg
    July 16, 2009 at 6:01 am

    I want to thank you for writing about this subject on this blog! I am an alcoholic whom has been through rehab twice and am discovering the beauty of sobriety.

    I have become a contributor to a great website called sobriety.org

    It is my hope that sobriety.org will become a focal point run by the sober community for the sober community. I look forward to hearing from many of you and developing this website into a powerful life saving tool, even if only for one or two people. Consider this site your community for a happy and sober life!

    “Bill”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

