Home > Scripture Reflections, Spirituality > Water into wine

Water into wine


A few random thoughts as I reflected on Jn 2:1-11 over the last few days.  Other insights are welcome.

v2 “invited to the wedding” Jesus entered into the ordinary world of people, he lived his life within the confines of his network of relationships and the natural opportunities that life brought to him, he does not force himself on these folks.  Questions: how approachable am I?  how do i respond when invitations and opportunities come–not always so well?  do I make the most of opportunities that come my way?

v3 “they have no wine left” Mary was aware of the surroundings.  She knew of the need that existed.  Why did she tell this to Jesus? She obviously expected that he could help.  Some questions: Am I present in my world so that I see the needs that people around me have?  Do I tell Jesus?  Expect him to be involved? What is depleted in me and others? Do I care? What resources do I bring to others? In what way have I grown? Am I healthy? In what ways am I being creative?

v4 “Why are you saying this to me? My time has not yet come.”  It seems that Jesus did not have a miracle planned for the wedding at Cana!  Did he ask Mary because he wanted her to express faith, like blind Bartimaeus? Some questions:

Why are you telling me? What am I resisting? What do I fear? Where are my conflicts? What or who do I need to confront? Am I or have I been avoiding or neglecting responsibility?

v5 “Whatever he tells you, do it”   Remarkable statement by this amazing woman.  Even after Jesus appears to rebuff Mary, she has such trust in him that she is willing to go with whatever he decides to do.  Am I ready for this kind of radical obedience–to do whatever he tells me?

vv6-7 “filled the jars to the top with water”  there was no room for wine to be added!  reminds me of overflowing and abundant waters that will come to those who drink of Jesus (Jn 4:14).  consider the clay pots of 2 Cor 4:7, “But we have this treasure in clay jars so that the extraordinary power belongs to God and does not come from us.”  Am I full or half-empty? Full of supernatural wine or ordinary water?

v10 “You have kept the good wine until now.”  No one knew they were in the middle of the miracle as they drank their wine, only the servants.  how low-key his service, he did not need the testimony of man (Jn 2:24-25).   The best wine he saved until the last–What good things await in the future?  Where and what are the miracles in my life?  How will my life be different?  How is my life different?  What do I fear?  Where have I lost my way?  What are my passions?  What really irritates me? Why?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

