Home > Poetry, Scripture Reflections > Old clay pots

Old clay pots


This came out of a reflection on John 2. I started the poem below and got stuck–maybe someone can help finish it. Actually, I made two attempts and I am combining both of them here. I really wanted to take some clay in my hands and create a pot but these words are all I can offer.

Fill the clay pots with water, he said.
Who is this guy? I don’t know.
She just said, “do whatever he says.”
And so we did. A miracle in time.

Just some old clay pots
Receptacles of water
Springs for a miracle
Water turned to wine
My life transformed by You

Old clay pots
That’s you and me
Cracked and broken
Old clay pots we’ll always be
Stained with time, full of eternity
Nothing beautiful yet full of glory
The ordinary becomes the extraordinary
From the potters wheel and the masters touch

Old clay pots
Full of water
Ready for a miracle
Water into wine

Old clay pots
Broken and scarred
Ready for a miracle
Holding new wine

Old clay pots
Now full of the vine

  1. glennie
    April 28, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Hi,

    I like your blogs. But I was really confused with this one. Is it a poem?

  2. david
    April 29, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    It is confusing–maybe I should remove it??? I did another blog reflecting on the content of John 2 and this was an attempt to creatively reflect on it. Oh well, it didn’t work. Thanks for your comment and encouragement!

  3. glennie
    April 30, 2007 at 5:16 am

    No don’t remove it. Actually it’s cool. But I just wanted to clarify it. Well, thanks for the info that I got from you. You know what, I am one of your blog-reader.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

