Home > Poetry, Scripture Reflections, Spirituality > Have mercy on me

Have mercy on me


The following was borne out of reflection on Mark 10:45-52.

Have mercy on me,
a cry borne out of desperation
and longing to be whole.
No one else can help me.
Lord, you know I’ve tried
and now, all I am left to do,
is to sit by the road, the dusty road, alone,
shouting for you,
to stop,
to listen ,
to show mercy.

So many voices trying to shut me up.
Pride and independence—I can do it on my own.
I don’t need anyone else.
What a joke!
Reduced to begging, a mockery of a man.
I’m not worthy, who am I?
Why should the teacher help me?
No power, no influence, no money,
no glory to be gained by listening to me.
Should I be quiet?
Remember my place?
My sin? My heritage?

No! A guttural cry,
borne out of desperation
and emerging faith.
Have mercy on me, have mercy on me.
There is no place else for me to turn.
I cannot be silenced.
I will not be silenced.
Have mercy on me, oh God.
Yes, on me, a sinner.
Your mercy is undeserved,
freely given,
indescribable,
my only hope for new life.
Please, just stop and listen to me!

Get up, you fool and be brave!
The teacher is calling you.
I almost fall on my face
as I jump off my mat.
With reckless abandon
I throw off my cloak
and drive forward those leading me.
to you,
to hope.

What do I want?
You to do?
For me?
I can hardly believe what I am hearing.
I want?
You to do?
For me?
Shouting, laughing, my words come tumbling out.
I want to see.
I want to see.
I want to see, again!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

