Home > Scripture Reflections, Spirituality > A life well spent

A life well spent


Psalms 1:6a  “Certainly, the Lord rewards the behavior of the godly . . .”

Hebrews 11:6  ” . . . the one who approaches God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.”

1 John 4:19 “We love because he first loved us.”

Galatians 2:20  “I have been crucified with Christ and it is no longer I who live but Christ lives in me. So the life I now live in the body, I live because of the faithfulness of the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

I Peter  1:18  “You know that from your empty way of life . . .you were ransomed, not be perishable things like silver or gold, but by precious blood . . . namely Christ.”

Mark 10:45 “For even the Son of Man did not come to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

I started out reading Psalms 1, went to Mark 10:35-45 today and ended up in 1 Peter.  John and James start out with a shocking question in 10:35 “Teacher, we want you to do for us, whatever we ask.”  Matthew20:20 tells us that their mother was behind this question but J & J are not innocent!   Jesus seems to respond without any defensiveness–“what do you want?”   After they tell him that they want high positions of power and authority (seated on his left and right in heaven), Jesus asks them if they are willing to go thru the suffering necessary before the glory to come (are you able to drink…?).  I don’t think they really get it since they seem to respond without thinking, “we are able” in verse 39.  Showing that no one is innocent in this mess, the other 10 disciples get mad when they hear what James and John have asked in v41!  I can imagine, “how dare you ask such a question?”  Sure seems like a power play in progress.

My mind went several places with this passage.  Jesus explains in verses 42-45 that the disciples do not understand spiritual leadership–it is not about you, it is about others, it is about service.  If you want to be great, to have a position of authority  and power under the Kingdom rule of Jesus, there must be a committment and a demonstration that your life has been given in service to others.

How grateful that I have been rescued from an empty way of life because of the Lord Jesus Christ. As 2 Cor 5:15 says, “And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.” I will never regret my life if it is spent in obedience to Him  It will have been well spent, there will be rewards–some I will see here, others will come later but they will come because God is good and a rewarder.  And yet it always remains about him–even my love response to him is a response to his love for me.   I am really blown away as I think about all this. Have a great Easter week!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

