Home > Poetry, Ramblings, Spirituality > Bad Choices

Bad Choices


how utterly foolish I am

to think that I can

choose to sin, and not

suffer consequences,

deadening, although not life-threatening

thirst-quenching yet soul-emptying.

before I choose to go there again,

remind me of your love for me.

no good thing will you withhold.

why settle for something

far less satisfying?

why believe a lie when

I can live in the truth?

why live in guilt and shame

when you offer

life, abundant and free,

a life of eternity that begins now!

  1. doris
    March 25, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    I like all three of the poems, since they express feelings and thoughts I can relate to, in a way that is simple and easily understandable.

    But I wish you had used something like “foolish” (a good Biblical term!) instead of stupid…that jars me. I wonder, does Petersen use “stupid” in his translation of the Bible, The Message? Maybe, though, you meant to jar…if so, you succeeded, with me anyway! I sat up and took notice.

  2. david
    March 26, 2007 at 7:20 am

    i didn’t really like it at the time and have changed it now. Think it works better. thanks

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

