Home > Books on Spiritual Formation, Spirituality > Respect the way God is at work in others

Respect the way God is at work in others


Following are some of my reflections after I read Epiphany Manual by Muto and van Kaam

As I seek to provide spiritual direction to others, I need to respect and honor the way God is already at work in the other person and should “never get in the way of the process already in motion in the heart of a person-in-formation.” (14) Rather than seeking to control the process, I was reminded that “Good facilitators let common formation happen.” (22) It is not necessary that I “click” with all the participants; only that I respect and value each participant’s contribution to how the Spirit is at work in the group. My role is to try to discern the spiritual needs of the group.

It is necessary to debunk the notion that spiritual formation-in-common will lead to some special or ecstatic religious experience. Formation should include a commitment to “expose the self-deception that covers up our total dependence on God.” (62) A key point for me is a reminder that “Transformation is a grace only the Spirit can give.” (63)

for full review see side bar under book reviews

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

