Home > Books on Spiritual Formation, Ramblings > Of Lost and forgotten books

Of Lost and forgotten books

February 24, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

This week I received a long lost book back from a friend and was delighted. Free at Last by David Benner is one of the most helpful books I have read over the past few years, one of which I have made a number of copies and given to friends (as far as I can tell it is out of print and not available anywhere). He has helped me understand the pain of my own emotional woundedness and makes some valuable suggestions in the movement towards healing.

I just flipped open a page and saw these notes I made from his book. When we are emotionally wounded, there is often a sense of loss which bring feelings of vulnerability, sadness, aloneness, abandonment and isolation. Healing of these losses comes through grieving. We must grieve our losses in order to leave them behind. When we fail to face these wounds (losses), we may experience anger and depression, guilt and anxiety. I wrote down in the margin, “I do not grieve my losses well.” Worth a read.

I also received back another book I had loaned out, Wounds that Heal by Stephen Seamands. My friend asked me if I had written a review of the book since it was in conjunction with one of my classes at Asbury Seminary. So, I found it and ended up posting my reviews of all the books from my Theology of Minstry class. Perhaps they will give someone a hunger to read one of them or my journey through these books will encourage honesty in the journey of others.

FYI, I know there are some typos and editing that needs to be done on these reviews, my apologies to the English teachers out there.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

