Home > Scripture Reflections > Comforting and uncomfortable words

Comforting and uncomfortable words

January 27, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

olivet by gerard laurenceau

In our online formational reading group, we read Luke 6:17-45 this morning and I wanted to share (with her permission) what my wife wrote about Luke 6:35, “For He is gracious to the ungrateful and evil”

I find this verse comforting, but also uncomfortable!

Why?

Because grace itself is comforting but uncomfortable.

And this verse is a definition of grace, God’s lovingkindness toward those like me who don’t deserve it.

And the following verse, “Be merciful, just as your Father also is merciful.” Challenging, but also frightening, as I see how short I fall.

I can only be merciful, gracious, as I draw upon the fountain of God’s mercy and grace toward me.

I wonder what the original hearers of this passage thought? Even for me today, after many years of studying God’s words, and hearing about grace and mercy…even today, I am taken aback anew.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 340 other followers

