Home > Ramblings > You don’t see the big black cloud

You don’t see the big black cloud


Image from carrieanddanielle.com

My wife started out on her morning walk this morning and within a few minutes, light rain began to fall, forcing her to return home.  Since I was sitting on our front porch when she came home, I said, “I see the sun, the rain will quickly pass. Keep going!”  Her response, “I just came back and you don’t see the big black cloud. I don’t want to get my shoes wet. I will wait and see what happens.”  Indeed I didn’t see any big black cloud from where I was sitting.  But that did not mean that it was not there!!

As I thought about this, I went two ways.

First I thought of the twelve spies sent out to survey Kadesh Barnea and according to the report of the ten, the land was full of danger and giants.  For Caleb and Joshua, the land was rich and full of the promise of milk and honey.  I also thought of the sluggard in Proverbs 26:13 who did not want to get up and go out because there might be a lion in the streets. Despite what this may sound like, I am not comparing my wife to a sluggard!

But, then, I also thought of Jesus words about counting the cost of following him when he uses the illustration of the man building a tower who first makes sure he has enough materials to build before he begins or the king who evaluates whether or not he has enough men to win the battle. (Luke 14:28-31)

What to think?  I should not judge someone else because their perspective is different from mine. I don’t know their heart and I can never see the situation from all sides–only God can do that!  While some of us tend to see the big black clouds (actually this is more my tendency), others have the gift to focus on the clear blue sky ahead.  I guess we need both!

What happened? Sure enough, the big black cloud passed over the house and the drizzle continued for another ten minutes. Soon after, my wife went back out to complete her walk with dry shoes and I remained sitting on the front porch waiting for the lion that never came!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment