Home > Scripture Reflections > Desperation (part 1)

Desperation (part 1)

February 19, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

What do we need to enjoy a rich, full life that is complete?  Jesus said that those who are full and completely satisfied (Blessed) are those who have nothing, “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven” (Mtt 5:2) As our Pastor Brian Fisher said in his sermon on this passage, it is the destitute, those who recognize that they have nothing who were (and are) attracted to Jesus.

Jesus was drawn to those who had nothing.  “But this is the one to whom I will look: he who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word” (Is 66:2).  “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners” (Mk 2:17).

And so we come to God with empty hands, crying eyes (“Blessed are those who mourn,” mourn over what God mourns over), controlled power (“Blessed are the meek”, meekness being a strength that has been restrained for a greater good) and and and empty stomachs (“Blessed are those who hunger”).  As Brian said, “Jesus did not go to the cross because he was powerless.  He was meek and lowly, NOT weak and passive.”

But it all begins with a sense of desperation.  Here is the first of the twelve confessions that Gary Moon mentions in Apprenticeship with Jesus.  “I admit that I am powerless to fix the brokenness of my life on my own.  My life has become unmanageable.”  Yep, he has modified the  twelve steps of AA.

Reading in Psalm 40 this week which made me think about this again. “As for me, I am poor and needy, but the Lord takes thought for me. You are my help and my deliverer; do not delay, Oh my God” (Psalm 40:17)

To be continued

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 340 other followers

