Reflectons on aging

December 16, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Following the death of one of the monks, Merton reflects on aging and memories of his youth.  From A Year with Thomas Merton

If I were wiser, I would not mind, but I am not so sure I am wiser.  I have been through more, I have endured a lot of things, perhaps fruitlessly.  I do not entirely think that–but it is possible.  What shakes me is that–I wish I were that rugby player, vain, vigorous, etc., and could start over again!  And yet how absurd.  What would I ever do?

Seems like I had a conversation about this earlier in the week.  People sometimes assume a level of expertise or maturity or wisdom of us when we get older that may not be necessarily true.  Lord, let me embrace both who I am and who I am not and be content with that.

Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

