Home > Men's Issues, Scripture Reflections, Spirituality > My anger or “to the praise of His glory”

My anger or “to the praise of His glory”


Why am I angry? Am I reverting back to the old controlling me? This morning, I became angry after someone hurt me. I just realized that I had no place to go with my anger and so I kept it within although outwardly I appeared pleasant. This was a pattern of living that led to my burnout and depression of a few years ago. Now, I can and will tell this person that they hurt me earlier and how they did so. Am I okay with their lack of response? Am I okay with being ignored or by being blown off? There is something here that the Lord wants to work on.

I was just reflecting on Ephesians 1:1-11 and what struck me was the repetition of “to the praise of His glory” in 6, 12 and 14. I was chosen, adopted, redeemed, forgiven and given hope in christ and the indwelling Spirit and the reason: ITS ALL ABOUT HIM–”to the praise of His glory”. On a side note, I really don’t like that song that ends with, “you took the fall and thought about me, above all” Wrong!

I realize (once again) that anger often results in me when I think and act like it is all about me. Lord, forgive me–how often my life is lived–not to the praise of Your glory but for my pleasure, comfort, insecurities, fears. I perceived that my rights were violated today and I became angry which only reveals that it was all about me at that point. Thank you God that there is ongoing redemption, forgiveness and hope in Christ. To the praise of His glory!!!

Tags:
  1. Westside Dirt
    October 21, 2008 at 8:53 pm | #1

    Thank you for your comments on Ephesians. I was meditating on that same phrase this morning and found your comments. How true it is that we are here for Him, not the other way around. I pray for both of us that we honor Jesus Christ today.

  2. October 21, 2008 at 9:29 pm | #2

    Thanks for the comment. Good to re-read this post and realize that over a year later God is still at work in this area. This has been a particular challenge of late–asking myself, is it really about You or is it about me?

  3. Carlos Rosales
    July 22, 2009 at 10:55 pm | #3

    I also have read Ephesians 1:1-11 for about a week over and over again. I see the first praises is to honor God the Father as you see the praises goes to his grace over all the Father has done for us before the foundation of world. The second praises goes to Christ but this praises is deferance it is that we should be to the praises of his glory.We should be praises of his glory for all that Christ has done for us, and the third unto the praises of his glory goes for The Holy Spirit the reason we are sealed unto the redemption. As you see our way of live is to be for the praises of his glory. It is good to read psalm 87 here you will see that Israel did not honor the Father for all That he did for them instead of praise him they complaint about their needs.psalm 81 gives us the pattern for praises here we should be rejoice and praise him for all his wondrous works. and if we open our mouth he shall fill it with praises.

  4. spartan19
    January 3, 2011 at 10:07 am | #4

    Thank you for posting your comments. I am beginning a study of Ephesians and noticed ‘to the praise of His glory’ mentioned several times. I wondered what that meant and got my answer here. I too struggle with thinking of myself all the time and that is what God wants to die in me. I noticed the phrase mentioned 3 times. The repitition indicates that God knows we’re selfish by nature so much emphasis was placed here.

  5. March 5, 2012 at 10:13 am | #5

    God knows our hearts and yet he still chooses and actively does love us! Amazing

  1. August 2, 2007 at 10:01 pm | #1

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 340 other followers

